The Walla Walla Valley American Viticultural Area (AVA) was officially recognized in 1984. It is home to more than 2,000 acres of vineyards and more than 100 wineries. The diamond-shaped AVA includes areas in both Washington and Oregon, with two-thirds of the land in Washington and the remaining area in Oregon. With elevations ranging from 400 feet to 2,000 feet and rainfall of seven inches in the west to twenty-two inches in the foothills to the east, the Walla Walla Valley AVA is characterized by its varied climate. The region specializes in Cabernet, Syrah, and Merlot.

For more information, please refer to the Oregon Wine Board's regional information sheet, or the Walla Walla Wine Alliance's website.

This collection is the result of oral history interviews with Washington and Oregon wine industry members in the Walla Walla Valley AVA. Content includes video interviews, photographs, and documents. This project was supported in part by Linfield College's partners: Oregon Wine Board and Whitman College.


Browse the Oregon Wine History Archive – Walla Walla Valley Collections:

Browse All Walla Walla Valley Historical Photos

Browse All Walla Walla Valley Oral History Interview Photos

Browse All Walla Walla Valley Oral History Interviews

L'Ecole N° 41 Collection

Leonetti Cellar Collection

Pepper Bridge Winery Collection

Seven Hills Winery Collection

Spofford Station Collection

Tero Estates Collection

Walla Walla Vintners Collection

Woodward Canyon Winery Collection