Music Department Scores

Lured by the Horizon


Lured by the Horizon

Streaming Media

Additional Streaming Media



Piccolo, Flute, 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets in B-flat (2nd doubles Bass Clarinet), 2 Bassoons (2nd doubles Contrabassoon)

4 Horns in F, 3 Trumpets in C, 2 Tenor Trombones, 1 Bass Trombone, Tuba

Timpani (5 Timpani with one Inverted Suspended Cymbal), Percussion, Piano (doubles Celesta), Strings


  1. Marimba, Vibraphone, 5 Temple Blocks
  2. Glockenspiel, Crotales, Xylophone, Mark Tree, Claves, Bongos, Bass Drum
  3. Chimes, Slap Stick, Suspended Cymbal, Ratchet, Tambourine, Chine Cymbal, Congas, Tam-tam, Vibraslap

Program Notes

Lured by the Horizon (2005) for orchestra is in five movements or “snapshots” of the Pacific Northwest. It was premiered by The University of Michigan Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Nikolas Caoile on March 14, 2006 at Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan.

I. Growth examines the adaptability, hopeful nature, and adventurous spirit of the people who lived in the region during the late nineteenth- and early twentieth-centuries. Since the 1840s and into the present, people have moved west with the hope of building a better life. This led to boomtowns throughout the region during the gold rush period (1848-56) and logging camps during the Depression-era (1929-41).

II. Rust is based on a set of photographs taken by the composer in 2004 that examine the contrast between the rich natural beauty of the region with evidence of the dire economic depression that follows the collapse of an exploitative industry.

III. Currents considers the Columbia River Basin that extends from Oregon to Canada, and from the Pacific Ocean to Idaho; it provides food, commerce, hydroelectric power, and recreational entertainment for the region. The river’s magnificent beauty and surprisingly treacherous undercurrents inspire two musical motives which guide the listener through the movement.

IV. Cut focuses on the dual nature of the logging industry as both an employer of thousands of people and the catalyst for severe environmental changes in the region. This drama is underscored by juxtaposing a dissonant harmonic language with stark woodwind interjections and string pizzicati.

V. Return is inspired by my emotional reactions to photographs that I took in 2004 of abandoned barns being re-absorbed by nature. Framed in a tonal harmonic musical language, I combine musical materials from the previous four movements to evoke how the end of one entity can foster and enrich that which follows.

Publication Date


Document Type

Score and Audio File


orchestra, scores


Composition | Music


Copyright © 2005 Andrea L. Reinkemeyer (BMI).
All rights reserved.

Lured by the Horizon